Evans Mbugua 

Born in 1979 in Nairobi, Kenya 

Lives and works in Paris

 

Evans Mbugua holds a degree in graphic design, and is the former artistic director of the Beaux-arts de Pau (France). For the past six years, Evans Mbugua has dedicated himself fully to his artistic practice, creating works that gleam with colour. He has also collaborated with the Chaumet house of fine jewellery for whom he recently designed six broaches for the Les Mondes de Chaumet collection.

 

The artist considers himself a “graphic recycler”. He breathes new, bright and colourful life to the urban pictograms he collects during his travels as well as his daily life. His paintings are built around the representation of these motifs, which he repeats to form the foundation of his compositions. He then layers delicate sketches of the people he encounters, using pointillism technique, always staging them within the composition. 

 

“Each of us has his or her own story to tell. I stage my life, and the lives of my friends, those I know well and those I don’t know. That’s how diversity inspires my curiosity of the world. I look at our identities and their hidden aspects. I privilege portraits to celebrate my characters" - Evans Mbugua

 

Each of his collaborations fuels his own reflections about the times we live in. Motion is a constant element in his work, reminding us that moving forward is the essence of the human condition.

Evans Mbugua

Né en 1979 à Nairobi, Kenya

Vit et travaille à Paris

 

Ancien directeur artistique diplômé en Design graphique aux Beaux-arts de Pau (France), Evans Mbugua se consacre depuis six ans à sa pratique artistique, réalisant des tableaux aux couleurs chatoyantes. Il a également collaboré avec la Maison de haute joaillerie Chaumet pour laquelle il a récemment dessiné six broches pour la célèbre collection Les Mondes de Chaumet.

 

L’artiste se définit lui-même comme un « recycleur graphique ». Il donne une seconde vie, colorée et vive, aux pictogrammes urbains qu’il glane au cours de ses voyages et dans sa vie quotidienne. Ses tableaux s’articulent autour de la représentation de ce motif qu’il répète à l’identique et à l’infini, formant ainsi le fond de chacune de ses compositions sur lesquelles viennent se dessiner en pointillé, d’une écriture légère et aérienne, les personnes qui croisent sa route. Le thème principal de ses tableaux reste l’humain qu’il ne cesse de mettre en scène.

 

« Chacun d’entre nous a sa propre histoire à raconter. Je mets en scène ma vie, celles de mes amis, d’inconnus et de moins inconnus. Ainsi la diversité nourrit ma curiosité envers le monde. Je porte un regard sur nos identités et leurs faces cachées. Je privilégie le portrait pour célébrer mes personnages » - Evans Mbugua

 

Chacune de ses collaborations nourrit sa réflexion sur notre époque. Le mouvement, qui apparaît comme une constante dans son travail, nous rappelle qu’avancer est le propre de l’homme.