Mohamed Melehi

Born in 1936 in Assilah, Morocco

Lives and works in Casablanca 

 

The leader of Moroccan modern art and cosmopolitan artist Mohamed Melehi was born in Assilah, Morocco in 1936.

The work of Mohamed Melehi has helped to shape the aesthetic of postcolonial and pan-Arab artists’ networks through his geometrical experiments and the cultural revolution operated by the Casablanca School, as well as his work as a photographer, editor, designer, graphic designer, and muralist.

Mohamed Melehi, the precursor of a new form of painting, began his artistic path at a very young age. He was only 19 when he entered Seville’s Academy of Fine Arts in 1955. He would transfer to Madrid the following year. In 1958, when the artist left Spain for Italy, he mounted his first individual show at the American Legation in Tangier. He showed radically abstract constructions, using stitched and printed burlap bags as supports, or woven woollens traditional used to make djellabas. He played with the expressive values of these materials and their symbolic resonance with the local visual culture. With the approach, audacious at that time, Melehi confirmed his emancipation from academism and his affiliation with informal art, the dominant pictorial style of post-war Europe. This exhibition demonstrated a radical position by which the artist fully embraced his own modernity, in a newly-independent Morocco. It also heralded the artistic vision that would guide Melehi in all of his works, marked by his pursuit of a pictorial modernity in interaction with his culture and speaking in a universal aesthetic language. 

From 1957 to 1961 he lived in Rome, where he worked with the Trastevere gallery, owned by Topazia Alliata (1913-2015), a cosmopolitan woman of culture who received the avant-garde artists and intellectuals of Italy. She devoted four exhibitions to the artist between 1959 and 1963. From that point, Melehi came in contact with the most innovative new artists (Accardi, Burri, Fontana, Kounellis, Perelli, Capogrossi…) and participated in international artists’ exhibitions, notably those of the young American abstract expressionists Jackson Pollock, Willem De Kooning, and Robert Rauschenberg.

Jean-Hubert Martin signals the originality of Melehi’s work of that period: “To the destructive and chaotic violence of the Italians and the abstract expressionists, [Melehi] opposes the rigour and serenity of an ordered composition”.

It was at this time that he met Jilali Gharbaoui, and rediscovered his friends Mohamed Chabâa and Mohamed Ataallah at Rome’s Academy of Fine Arts, where they pursued their research, evolving in a cultural and artistic environment swept up in a spirit of renewal. 

Though well-established in the Roman art scene, Mohamed Melehi decided to discover Paris, then the US, which for him had become the new epicentre of the art world. He moved to New York at the end of 1962 and began a series of paintings that reveal his immersion in an urban landscape of music and culture that fascinated and inspired him. He abandoned black paint, making way for bright colours and a geometric abstraction inspired by scientific progress, which might be interpreted as an ode to cybernetics. At that time, his paintings manifested a predilection for curving lines, announcing the appearance of the wave motif which would become key to his work, and remains today at the centre of his artistic exploration.

During his years in New York, Melehi frequented established artists and trend-setting galleries, participating in two major group shows in 1963, “Hard Edge and Geometric Painting and Sculpture” at MoMA in New York, and “Formalists” at the Washington Gallery of Modern Art. He thus confirmed his place on the American art scene. 

For the ten years he spent abroad, Melehi took part in the emergence of major art movements across most of the Western cultural capitals. He decided to return to Morocco in 1964, eager to contribute to the cultural dynamic of his native country. He joined the teaching staff of Casablanca’s École des Beaux-Arts, under the direction of Farid Belkahia. 

He taught there from 1964 to 1969, alongside two art historians, Toni Maraini and Bert Flint. They would be joined by his companions from Rome, Chabâa and Ataallah. They had all evolved in the upper spheres of modern art in Europe and North America, and had assimilated the teachings of the Bauhaus. They formed a research and creation collective, aimed to design a new artistic practice, inseparable from the larger framework of reconfiguring society. At that time, Melehi reconnected with the aesthetic conception of Muslim civilisation, and its principle of giving form to ideas without copying either nature or man. Along with geometric form and flat fields of colour, he integrated a new body of symbols into his work, such as rainbows, flames, rays, astral bodies, or calligraphy, while privileging the wave forms that had become characteristic of his work. 

In parallel to his research at the heart of the Casablanca School, Melehi advocated for the integration of art into daily life, initiating with his peers several extra-muros art manifestations, including the historic “Présence plastique”, which took place on Jemaâ el-Fna Square in Marrakech in 1969. Melehi played an active role in cultural life of the 1960s, taking initiative in several areas. He founded the Intégral art review, which he directed from 1971 to 78. In 1978, he co-founded the International Cultural Festival of Asilah and launched a programme of temporary murals, spread throughout the streets of the city’s medina.

Melehi’s fertile work of the 70s and 80s reveals the demanding search for a modern form of representation. Here is a transversal aesthetic that articulates between figuration and abstraction, identity and modernity. The work would be the subject of a major exhibition, “Melehi, Recent Paintings”, at the Bronx Museum of the Arts in New York (1984-1985).

 

Over time, Melehi’s body of work affirms the undulant shape of a wave carrying with it an infinity of metaphor. Manifested today in a process of temporal symbiosis in his artistic career, integrating the burlap of his Madrid period, the bands of Rome, and his New York waves. 

 

His work has been the subject of many exhibitions throughout the world, and several retrospectives have been devoted to his career. Among the latter is the current exhibition by the Alserkal Foundation in Dubai. Curated by Morad Montazami, the exhibition was shown first in London at The Mosaic Rooms in early 2019, then at the Museum of African Contemporary Art Al Maaden (MACAAL) in Marrakech. Michel Gauthier, curator at the Centre Pompidou in Paris, recently published a monography that examines the twenty formative years of his career.

Mohamed Melehi

Né en 1936 à Assilah, Maroc

Vit et travaille à Casablanca 

 

Chef de file de la modernité marocaine et artiste cosmopolite, Mohamed Melehi est né en 1936 à Assilah au Maroc.

L’œuvre de Mohamed Melehi a contribué à façonner l’esthétique des réseaux artistiques postcoloniaux et panarabes à travers ses expérimentations géométriques, la révolution culturelle opérée avec l’École de Casablanca mais aussi son travail de photographe, éditeur, designer, affichiste et muraliste.

 

Précurseur d’une nouvelle expression picturale, Mohamed Melehi entame très jeune son parcours artistique en Europe. Il n’a que 19 ans lorsqu'il intègre l’École des beaux-arts de Séville en 1955. Il rejoindra celle de Madrid l’année suivante. En 1958, alors que l’artiste quitte l’Espagne pour l’Italie, il organise sa première exposition personnelle à la Bibliothèque Américaine de Tanger. Il y présente des œuvres de factures radicalement abstraites sur des supports de toile de jute cousue et tatouée de signes, et des tissages de laine employés traditionnellement pour la confection des djellabas. Il joue sur la valeur expressive de ces matériaux et leurs résonances symboliques avec la culture visuelle locale. Par cette démarche, audacieuse pour l’époque, Melehi confirme son émancipation de l’académisme et sa filiation à l’art informel, style pictural dominant dans l’Europe d’après-guerre. Cette exposition montre un parti pris radical dans lequel l’artiste assume pleinement sa modernité dans un Maroc fraîchement indépendant. Elle est aussi annonciatrice de la vision artistique de Melehi qui guidera l’ensemble de son œuvre, marquée par la recherche d’une modernité picturale en interaction avec sa culture et porteuse d’un langage esthétique universel.

 

Installé à Rome de 1957 à 1961, il travaillera avec la galerie Trastevere dirigée par Topazia Alliata (1913-2015), femme de culture cosmopolite autour de laquelle gravitent les artistes d’avant-garde et les intellectuels italiens. Cette dernière lui consacre quatre expositions entre 1959 et 1963. Dès lors, Melehi se retrouve en contact avec les artistes les plus novateurs (Accardi, Burri, Fontana, Kounellis, Perelli, Capogrossi…) et assiste à des expositions d’artistes internationaux, notamment celles des jeunes peintres expressionnistes abstraits américains Jackson Pollock, Willem De Kooning et Robert Rauschenberg.

Jean-Hubert Martin nous fait observer l’originalité du travail de Melehi à cette période :  « À la violence destructrice et chaotique des Italiens et des expressionnistes abstraits, [Melehi] oppose la rigueur et la sérénité de la composition ordonnée ».

 

C’est à cette époque qu’il fait la connaissance de Jilali Gharbaoui et retrouve ses amis Mohamed Chabâa et Mohamed Ataallah à l’Académie des beaux-arts, où ils poursuivent leurs études tout en évoluant dans un environnement culturel et artistique gagné par l’esprit du renouveau.

 

Bien que très implanté dans la scène artistique romaine, Mohamed Melehi décide de découvrir Paris, puis les Etats-Unis, devenus pour lui le nouvel épicentre de l’art. Il s’installe à New York à la fin de l’année 1962 et se met à peindre une série de tableaux révélateurs de son immersion au cœur d’un paysage culturel, urbain et musical qui le fascine et l’inspire. Il abandonne la peinture noire, qui cède la place à des couleurs vives et à une abstraction géométrique inspirée du progrès scientifique ambiant, dans ce qui peut être interprété comme un éloge de la cybernétique. C’est à cette époque que se manifeste dans ses peintures une prédilection pour la ligne courbe. Elle annonce l’apparition du motif ondulatoire qui deviendra l’élément clé de son œuvre et demeure, aujourd’hui encore, au centre de ses préoccupations artistiques. 

Durant son séjour new-yorkais, Melehi fréquente les artistes connus, les galeries en vue et participe à deux expositions collectives majeures en 1963, « Hard Edge and Geometric Painting and Sculpture » au MoMA de New York, et « Formalistes » à la Washington Gallery of Modern Art. Il confirme ainsi son intégration à la scène artistique américaine.

 

Durant les dix ans passés à l’étranger, Melehi prend part à l’émergence de courants artistiques majeurs à travers la plupart des capitales culturelles occidentales. Il décide de regagner le Maroc en 1964, avec l’envie de contribuer au dynamisme culturel de son pays. Il intègre l’École des beaux-arts de Casablanca, alors dirigée par Farid Belkahia. 

Il y enseigne de 1964 à 1969, aux côtés de deux historiens d’art, Toni Maraini et Bert Flint. Ils seront rejoints par ses complices de Rome, Chabâa et Ataallah. Tous ont évolué comme lui dans les hauts lieux de la modernité artistique en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, et ont assimilé la pensée du Bauhaus. Ils forment un collectif de recherche et de création qui vise à concevoir une nouvelle pratique artistique, pensée comme indissociable d’une remise en question sociale plus large. A cette époque, Melehi renoue avec la conception esthétique de la civilisation musulmane qui a pour principe de donner forme à la pensée en ne copiant objectivement ni la nature, ni l’homme. Il intègre à son œuvre, en plus des formes géométriques et des couleurs en aplats, un nouveau corpus ornemental tel que l’arc-en-ciel, la flamme, le rayon, les astres ou la calligraphie, tout en privilégiant les formes ondoyantes devenues caractéristiques de son œuvre picturale.

 

Parallèlement, Melehi prône, à travers ses recherches menées au sein de l’Ecole de Casablanca, l’intégration de l’art dans la vie quotidienne et initie avec ses camarades des manifestations artistiques extra-muros, dont celle, historique, baptisée « Présence plastique », qui s’est tenue place Jemaâ el-Fna à Marrakech en 1969. Melehi prend une part active à la vie culturelle des années 1960 et s’implique sur plusieurs fronts. Il fonde la revue d’art « Intégral » qu’il anime de 1971 à 78. En 1978, il cofonde le Festival culturel international d’Asilah et lance un programme de peintures murales éphémères, déployées dans les rues de la médina de cette ville. 

L’œuvre féconde de Melehi dans les années 70 et 80 révèle une recherche exigeante d’une forme moderne de représentation. Elle dégage une esthétique transversale propre à l’articulation entre figuration et abstraction, identité et modernité. Elle fera l’objet d’une importante exposition, « Melehi, Recent Paintings », au Bronx Museum of the Arts à New York (1984-1985).

 

Au fil du temps, l’œuvre de Melehi s’affirme avec sa forme ondoyante qui se déploie comme une vague charriant avec elle d’innombrables métaphores. Elle s’accomplit aujourd’hui dans un processus de symbiose temporelle de son parcours artistique, intégrant en son sein la toile de jute madrilène, les bandes de la période romaine et les ondes new-yorkaises.

 

Son œuvre a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions dans le monde entier et plusieurs rétrospectives lui ont été consacrées. Parmi ces dernières, l’une est encore en cours à la Alserkal Foundation de Dubaï. Curatée par Morad Montazami, l’exposition avait été présentée à Londres à The Mosaic Rooms au début de l’année 2019 puis au musée d’art contemporain africain Al Maaden à Marrakech - Macaal. Michel Gauthier, conservateur au Centre Pompidou à Paris, lui a récemment consacré une monographie, qui revient sur les vingt années décisives de sa carrière.

 

 

 

Présentation des œuvres

Melehi et le Déluge

 

‘‘Melehi et Le Déluge’’ poursuit la réflexion de l’artiste sur les problématiques climatiques actuelles. Le peintre ne cesse de s’intéresser aux problèmes climatiques depuis la Conférence Internationale sur le Climat (Cop 22) de 2016, à Marrakech. A l’époque, Loft Art Gallery avait exposé les toiles regroupées sous le titre ‘‘Hymne au climat’’.

Les ondulations qui autrefois s’appelaient "flammes" changent ici de position et font référence aux flots débordants. Elles ponctuent  l’horizon et dévoilent les éléments déchainés ; nuages menaçants et houle forte suggèrent les grondements de tonnerre et la catastrophe imminente. 

Mohamed Melehi, artiste à la carrière internationale, se nourrit ici de l’actualité. Il invite son public à une prise de conscience nécessaire et urgente.