Focus on - "Tales from Lamu to Timbuktu" par Evans Mbugua

7 - 15 July 2020

This week we unveil the story of the work of art Tales from Lamu to Timbuktu by artist Evans Mbugua and take you on a discovery of an archipelago off the Kenyan coast in search of the ancestral traditions of an entire population and, beyond that, those of the African continent.

  • Whether it is his family or strangers, each of the characters that the artist Evans Mbugua represents in his works has crossed his path one day. If behind each of his representations is a story, the viewer is also free to imagine the tale ...

     

    And you, what do you imagine behind the red beard and the sunglasses?

  • Evans Mbugua was born in Nairobi where he attended all his schooling before moving to France to pursue graduate studies...

    Evans Mbugua was born in Nairobi where he attended all his schooling before moving to France to pursue graduate studies in graphic design. He is known for his pointillist paintings that play with light and his numerous collaborations, the latest of which saw him working with the haute joaillerie house Chaumet.

     

    For someone who lives in the city, the young Evans takes comfort in the civilization classes  at school, in which one name keeps coming up: Lamu.

  • In his childhood mind, Lamu, the capital city of an archipelago of the same name that stretches off the Kenyan coast, seems like a lost paradise. There, traditions are alive and are perpetuated from generation to generation  fitting exactly with the needs of our modern times.

     

    However, time has slowed down there and concerns are brought back to the essentials.

    Harmed by its proximity to Somalia, the Lamu archipelago appears to be unsafe to the neophytes and, although it is very close to the coast, only a few Kenyans go there.

     

    When he arrived in France, the artist never stops thinking about Lamu, the image he has of it, the traditions and knowledge it conveys. This knowledge that he links to the whole of Africa and of which Timbuktu is the personification.

  • Lamu – Timbuktu : The tale begins Having decided to discover the dreamed archipelago, Evans Mbugua decided to go there...

    Lamu – Timbuktu : The tale begins

     

    Having decided to discover the dreamed archipelago, Evans Mbugua decided to go there for the first time in 2018 for a few days.

     

    Inside the islands, we move on foot or on the back of a donkey. From one island to another, it is the boat that is ensuring the connections. These are the same boats that was formerly used to travel to Zanzibar, in the far south, for economic purposes.

     

    Evans sails from one island to another. Evans listens. He learns from the stories of the elders and gets to know their traditions, as regards to clothing, culinary practices or culture. 

     

    It is during one of these cruises that the artist meets Omar, Master mariner of the Indian Ocean, always with the sunglasses on and his red beard in the wind.

     

    The movement of the boats is slow and Evans listens to the chatty sailor as he steers the vessel. That's how he learns that Omar is carrying on the tradition by dyeing his beard and hair with henna as his parents and grandparents did before him. Evans finds him very modern, in perfect harmony with his history and his life.

     

    Every time he travels to Lamu, Evans finds him again with new stories to tell.

     

    "When a man dies, it's a library that disappears. This painting is a tribute to knowledge and tradition that tends to disappear", the artist tells us.

     

    Through this work, Evans imagines a journey from Lamu to Timbuktu, "the pearl of the desert", a historic city classified by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, a Mecca of knowledge, now threatened. He imagines a journey where Omar would continue to tell stories and feed us with his tale.

    Through this work, the artist affirms that ancestral knowledge evolves with the present and that tradition and the contemporary world can live in harmony. For him, Lamu is the proof of this belief and Omar its personification.

     

  • Know more about the artist

    Click here for artist's Biography

  • Autres oeuvres de l'artiste

Focus sur - "Tales from Lamu to Timbuktu" par Evans Mbugua

7 - 15 Juillet 2020

Cette semaine, nous vous dévoilons l’histoire de l'oeuvre Tales from Lamu to Timbuktu par l’artiste Evans Mbugua et vous emmenons à la découverte d’un archipel au large des côtes Kenyanes à la recherche des traditions ancestrales de tout un peuple et, au-delà, de celles du continent africain.

  • Qu’il s’agisse de sa famille ou d’inconnu, chacun des personnages que représente l’artiste Evans Mbugua dans ses œuvres a un jour croisé sa route. Si derrière chacune de ses représentations se cache une histoire, le regardeur est aussi libre d’imaginer le récit …

     

    Et vous, qu’imaginez-vous derrière la barbe rousse et les lunettes de soleil ?

     

     

     

     

  • Evans Mbugua est né à Nairobi où il a suivi toute sa scolarité avant de venir s’installer en France pour...

     

    Evans Mbugua est né à Nairobi où il a suivi toute sa scolarité avant de venir s’installer en France pour poursuivre des études supérieures en graphisme. Il est connu pour ses tableaux pointillistes qui se jouent de la lumière et ses nombreuses collaborations dont la dernière en date l’a vu travailler avec la maison de haute joaillerie Chaumet.

     

    Citadin, le jeune Evans se laisse bercer par les cours de civilisation qu’il suit à l’école et dans lesquels un nom reviens sans cesse : Lamu.

     

  • Dans son esprit d’enfant, Lamu, ville capitale d’un archipel du même nom qui se déploie au large des Côtes Kenyane apparaît comme un paradis perdu. Là-bas, les traditions sont vivaces et se perpétuent de générations en générations cohabitant en harmonie avec notre époque.

    Le temps y est toutefois ralenti et les préoccupations ramenées à l’essentiel.

    Desservie par sa proximité avec la Somalie, l’archipel de Lamu, apparaît peu sûre aux néophytes et, bien que très proche de la côte, peu de Kenyan s’y rende.

     

    Arrivée en France, l’artiste ne cesse de penser à Lamu, à l’image qu’il s’en fait, aux traditions et aux savoirs qu’elle véhicule. Ce savoir qu’il lie à l’Afrique entière et dont Tombouctou est la personnification.

  • Lamu – Tombouctou : Le conte commence Ayant décidé de découvrir l’archipel tant rêvé, Evans Mbugua décide de s’y rendre...

    Lamu – Tombouctou : Le conte commence

     

    Ayant décidé de découvrir l’archipel tant rêvé, Evans Mbugua décide de s’y rendre pour la première fois quelques jours en 2018.

     

    A l’intérieur des îles, on se déplace à pieds ou à dos d’ânes. D’une île à l’autre, c’est le bateau qui assure les liaisons. Ces mêmes bateaux qui autrefois voyageaient jusqu’à Zanzibar, à l’extrême sud, à des fins économiques.

     

    Evans navigue d’une île à l’autre. Evans écoute. Il se nourrit du récit des anciens et apprends à mieux connaître leurs traditions qu’elles soient vestimentaires, culinaires ou encore culturelles.

     

    C’est lors de l’une de ces croisières que l’artiste rencontre Omar, marin au long court qui sillonne les côtes de l’océan indien, lunettes rivées au nez, barbe rousse au vent.

     

    Le déplacement des bateaux est lent et Evans écoute le marin bavard alors que ce dernier tient la barre. C’est ainsi qu’il apprend que Omar perpétue la tradition en se teignant la barbe et les cheveux au henné comme le faisait ses parents et ses grands-parents avant lui. Evans, lui trouve un air moderne, en osmose parfaite avec son histoire et sa vie.

    A chacun de ses voyages à Lamu, Evans le retrouve et de nouvelles histoires voient le jour.

     

    « Quand un homme meurt, c’est une bibliothèque qui disparaît. Ce tableau est un hommage au savoir et à la tradition qui tend à disparaître » nous confie l’artiste.

     

    A travers cette œuvre, Evans imagine un voyage de Lamu à Tombouctou, « la perle du désert », ville historique classée par l’Unesco au patrimoine mondial de l'humanité, haut lieu du savoir, aujourd’hui menacée. Il imagine un voyage où Omar continuerait de conter des histoires et de nous nourrir de son récit.

    A travers cette œuvre, l’artiste affirme que les savoirs ancestraux évoluent avec le présent et que la tradition et le monde contemporain peuvent vivre en harmonie. Lamu en est la preuve et Omar la personnification.

     

  • En savoir plus sur l'artiste

    Découvrez sa biographie

  • Autres oeuvres de l'artiste